du Temple" : historical background.
wrongly that the origin of the name : "La Cour du Temple"
comes from the fact that knights from the military and religious
Order of the Templars used to live in this residence. But this is
a mistake. The temple in question simply refers to God's temple
for the church St Michel des Lions is close by. The fact that the
"Rue du Temple" is not far from here too, makes things
confused. The nameof this street dates from the 12th century and
comes from the Templar Order which received an unearned income coming
from buildings that it owned in this street and in the neighbourhood.
private mansion which belonged to the MALEDEN DE SAVIGNAC whose
coat of arms can still be seen on one of the inner wall, is constituted
of three different bodies. It is estimated that they were built
between the 16th and the 17th century.
The stone-built staircase which is the oldest part of the mansion,
dates from the 16th century and was built on the walls at the back
of the castle of LIMOGES.
The renovation work allowed to discover the famous St André's
crosses, a mantelpiece and half-timberongs which had been covered
under Turgot for insulation reasons.
Mr de La Périère, who belonged to Limoges nobility
owned this private mansion in 1775.
du Temple" now belongs to a former architect who gave its current
aspect. This work, which had begun in 1978, lasted for about 2 years.
The paving of the "Cour du Temple" has a specificity.
A part of it was made with a special stone named "Gassette"
or "Gazette", which was used in the od pottery kilns of
du Temple" now belongs to the historical and national patrimony
and is one of the best place for tourism in Limoges.